It’s time to play “Hen..or..ROO??!!”

It’s that game we all like to play, folks, and even though we can’t win until 3-6 weeks of age, we still like to play.

Is it the thickness of the legs? Is it the speed of the feathering? Is it the comb development? Everyone has his own ideas. I’ve been watching 3.0 closely and can’t resist making predictions any longer. I just did a comb/wing photo session, so you can play along at home!

We have to compare apples to apples here, so I’ll do the Marans first. We have four Blue Copper Marans, two Black, and one Splash. Here are the Blues:

photo 5

photo 2-1

photo 1-2

photo 4

Now, does one of those stick out for you? I thought so. How ’bout that last one, huh? Only 10-11 days old, and I think we can call that one as a boy. The first one is Big Blue. Although the comb is pretty big, so is s/he. It’s not nearly as orange or as…juicy…as this last one, though. The second and third look like pullets to my inexperienced eye. I’m committing myself here, now, so I can see just how wrong I was in a few weeks.

Now, the two blacks. Both were helped from the shell, but the first immediately thrived, and LBCM needed a lot of help, both in terms of legs and digestive system.

photo 3

photo 3-1

We seem to be out of the woods, I’m pleased to say, but this chick is tiny and underdeveloped. They both look like pullets to me, but what do I know?!

And then there’s Splash, who I really, really want to be a roo. He’s had such a hard time these first 10 days of his life, and his feather development is behind many of theĀ  others. The comb says “hen”, but the wings say “roo”:

photo 1-1

photo 5-1

I’m hoping he’s a late bloomer. I’d LOVE a Splash rooster.

If I am right (and I find that highly unlikely), I ended up with an unusually high percentage of hens. Which is great. But I would like some rooster options…

Then there are the Lavender Ameraucanas. I have three, two of which hatched on their own on Day One. They are both 11 days old, and yet very different in terms of their feather development. I think I can draw a few safe conclusions. I’ve been calling them Luigi and Luisa as their temporary names; here are Luisa’s wing feathers, followed by Luigi’s:

photo 1

photo 2

And here is an overhead shot of the two of them:

photo 4-1

I’m sure I don’t need to say which is which. Luigi, top, is smaller, with less feather development and only a tiny puff of a tail compared to Luisa. Luisa is also getting her epaulets.

But what of Light Preemie/Zippy, I hear you ask? S/he declined to pose for pics. It’s a miracle I got the pics I did, frankly. At this age, these babies are a blur most of the time. If I had to guess, I’d call Zippy female, but I wouldn’t bet the farm on it.

So…there you have it. Do you agree with my guesses? Do you think I’m silly to even try? Let’s hear it!

2 thoughts on “It’s time to play “Hen..or..ROO??!!”

  1. I think you are a little early, but what’s up with comb #4 at the top? It looks pea to me. Am I seeing things, or is it just the angle?

    At three weeks I had good luck identifying males with single combs. Some even at two weeks. None of these guys sticks out to me as boy.

Leave a Reply

