Not again. Please, not again.

Don’t panic; no one died and no one’s missing. It’s just…

AAAAUUUUGGGGHHHH!!!!!

Those of you who are long-time readers may remember the Trials of Trixie. Trixie, our last remaining Buff Orpington, mysteriously ceased normal laying last March, to produce only the occasional fart egg. For ten months. Ten. MONTHS.

Now, were she an older hen, I could write this off to a well-deserved retirement. But Trixie, at that time, was a new layer, 11 months old, dead smack in the middle of her laying prime. I tried to account for this with all manner of explanations: the stress of the dog attack, nutritional issues, pecking order issues, but, as the months went on, it became clear that this was a permanent condition. Unless…

Unless, when Trixie had her first-ever molt this past fall, her eggmaker might reset. It was a long, long, long shot, but it was all I had. Chicken Debbie, presented with this idea, raised her eyebrows, blew out a doubtful sigh, and said, “Well…maybe.” I knew she was only humouring me.

But it worked! Lo and behold, chickeneers, it worked! For almost two glorious months, Trixie has produced gorgeous, huge eggs on a regular basis. I became complacent.

And, then…this:

photo

Oh, chickeneers, I canna stand it. Yes, that is Trixie’s contribution to the daily ration, at right, with Dorothy’s lovely speckled, snowglobe XL, at left, for comparison.

Please, pleeeeease don’t tell me this is the way it is with Trixie, that she lays beautifully for the first two months of the year and then…ten months off.

Because, if so…that’s some union she has.

9 thoughts on “Not again. Please, not again.

    • There’s nothing wrong with her; she’s fine in every way. I had even considered precocious molt last summer, but that wasn’t it, either. Whatever it is, it isn’t hurting her at all, although she does become distressed when she can’t lay, spending days in the nest and producing nothing…

      • Last spring and summer, she laid 1 or 2 fart eggs a week, but she nested every day, very upset when she left the nest empty. Then she dried up completely. She began laying again mid-January, jumbos, until yesterday, when she laid her first fart egg since last year. I’m hoping it was an aberration…

    • Oh, it’s really very simple! The most important thing, for you and your clients, is a date. I use “month.day” (so, today would be 3.4). Many people use a stamp, with food colouring.

      I have a thing where I like to identify who laid which; it’s my little OCD thing. This is the name at the top. I think it gives my customers a good laugh, especially if they are readers of the blog and get to know the girls a bit.

      At the bottom, I put the size of the egg, as measured on my vintage scale. I have my own little addition, where, if it’s a little over, say, large, I’ll add a “+”, more than half way in the large wedge, “++”, almost all the way to extra large “+++”. That’s very unofficial, and just my little quirk. So, under the date on my eggs is M, L, XL, or J, for the size, which is determined by weight.

Leave a Reply

