Little woman.

Ladies and gentlechickens, here today, for the first time ever, thirty-eight weeks in the making….(drum roll please)….I give you….Marilyn’s first egg:

photo-1

(cymbal crash) Oh, my lord, she finally did it. How do I know? WELL.

Marilyn has been nest hunting lately, and was trying out The Nest on Pooh Corner this morning, wedged between the wall and Trixie, who was laying at the time. Hmmmm, I though; I’ll need to keep an eye on that.

A while later, I saw her there by herself, but she did not appreciate my scrutiny:

photo

(It’s no wonder this girl is so needy and easily frightened; I swear, she can barely see.)

When I returned home from my mid-day errands, I found Mae on the same nest. When I reached under her, I found a Dorothy egg (that speckled bloom is a dead giveaway), and…an Easter Egger egg.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, then it was MAE’S egg. I don’t believe so, for the following reasons:

  1. Mae laid late yesterday afternoon, in The Annex, her usual nest.
  2. The egg today was on the small side, a slightly bluer shade than Mae’s, and it had telltale streaks of blood on it. I don’t believe Mae would have bled for so small an egg. A first-time layer would.
  3. The egg was cold. Dorothy’s was warm, but the blue egg was stone cold.

I propose to you that Marilyn laid the egg at least an hour earlier, Dorothy laid recently, and Mae had only just begun to sit the eggs. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. Marilyn, In the Pooh Nest. With the blue egg.

So, gentle reader, we are all women now, here at Heedley’s Hens. Even Abby, our lone abstainer, has been squatting for me, even though she’s still to regrow her molted plumage and she looks as though she just came through the wringer. That girl really is an over achiever…

3 thoughts on “Little woman.

    • I was starting to think it would never happen. I remember how impatient I was for our last 1.0 to lay (Buffy, as it happened), and she laid (FINALLY, I thought) on Hallowe’en! Having to wait past Groundhog Day was something I’d never even considered…

Leave a Reply

