Which just leaves Dorothy.

Our first 2.0 egg was waaaay back on September 7th, fully seven weeks ago. You’d think chicks born at the same time, from the same hatching, would lay at roughly the same time, wouldn’t you?

You would be wrong.

Sure, our “bad girl” Australorps all fell into line pretty quickly, and Gidget defied the wisdom that it takes longer for a Silver Laced Wyandotte to mature by laying her first egg five weeks ago, at 22 weeks of age, but…hello? Dorothy? Alice? Any time now would be great.

I had hoped to have 2.1 eggs by the beginning of November, and here I am still waiting on 2.0 frsts. Blue eggs are still just a dream, as Mae and Marilyn’s combs are only now just starting to pink up a bit.

Well, as at yesterday, Heedley’s Hens has welcomed another woman to the flock, trading in her “pullet” badge for one that says “hen”. How do I know?

The tyranny of mathematics. Five eggs in one day equals five layers, around here, anyway. Can I identify them all? Well, I haven’t been paying as close attention to the eggs since they’re trashcan bound, anyway, and I don’t know 2.0’s eggs as well as I will, but I’ll take a stab…

Going by size and colour, I’d say, beginning at twelve o’clock and proceeding clockwise: Scarlet (smallest dark egg and a bit rosy), Delilah (largest dark egg), Jezebel (yellowest dark egg), new layer (smaller buff egg), Gidget (larger buff egg).

But who is the new layer? I would have laid money (oh, if only I could!) the next to lay would be Dorothy, as her comb and wattles have been big and red for some time, but I have to go with Alice. She squatted for me Thursday morning, and she’s been haunting the barn.

I was pleased to see that the new layer laid in The Annex, a nest which has gone unused since Pip died.

It’s always exciting to have a new layer in the flock. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go throw out her egg.

6 thoughts on “Which just leaves Dorothy.

  1. Our black Australorps both laid yesterday for the first time. It was exciting to find them since some of the others have slacked off with the shorter days. They were the last holdouts from the chicks we got in March. Our silver-laced wyandotte has been laying for a month and everyone else from that batch of chicks for six weeks. It’s really just all over the place even though they were the exact same age.

  2. Congrats on your eggs!! I know that my SLWs are going to be very late layers.. My first girl was. She was born in July and didn’t start laying until February or March the following year.. The two I have now – I don’t expect to lay anytime soon. They are very slow growing.. Not even a tinge of pink on their combs yet.

    Do you know where your feed store purchases their chicks? My EEs from McMurray started laying very early.

    • I know where they have been getting them, and I know they won’t be getting them from there again after the Easter Egger Disaster of ’12. And let’s just leave it at that.

      • Seventeen peeps DOA, and fully 90% of the rest were male. These were sexed pullets, mind. Given that scenario, I did well getting 2 out of 3 pullets, no?

Leave a Reply

