Happy Kapparot, y’all.

I’m down with the Jews. Let’s get that out right up front.

I lived near New York City for more than a decade before moving upstate a few years ago, and I have a number of very close friends who are Jewish. I am well aware that this time of year is rife with Jewish holidays, from Rosh Hashana through Yom Kippur. I know one eats in a hut for Sukkot, even if that hut is a one man tent erected on the sidewalk on the Upper West Side. I’m hip to the whole scene.

But, until today, I had never heard of Kapparot. What is Kapparot, you might ask, gentle reader, and what is it doing on a chicken blog? Well. Brace yourself.

Kapparot, according to Wikipedia, “is a Jewish ritual practiced by some Jews on the eve of Yom Kippur. The person swings a live chicken or a bundle of coins over one’s head three times, symbolically transferring one’s sins to the chicken or coins. The chicken is then slaughtered and donated to the poor for consumption at the pre-fast meal.”

How did this come to my attention, you may ask, gentle reader? It came to my attention via none other than our very own HeedleyWendy (herself a member of The Tribe), who actually witnessed this ritual performed today, in Brooklyn. I shit you not.

I am not going to debate the chicken as sin receptacle here, although I am tempted, I assure you. But I will say this:

Is there nothing chickens can’t do??!!

9 thoughts on “Happy Kapparot, y’all.

  1. I have heard of this on BYC. The thread was quickly shut down as it was political/religious and it’s against the rules, but I was a little upset about it.

    I recently watched a documentary on witchcraft, and they did a spell by killing a hen :( A hen that looked like Hermione. I closed my eyes. I could not watch that part.

    • Personally, I’m with you, Aoxa, but there is no point deriding people for cruelty to animals in the name of faith. It’s all shades of grey, anyway.

Leave a Reply

