What the point of having chickens if you don’t make mayo?!

You can certainly find hundreds of recipes for homemade mayonnaise on the web, and they’re all pretty similar. There are a few basic elements, which you can increase, decrease, or eliminate to suit your taste. There are about a gazillion variations on this basic sauce.

Mayonnaise, if one were to consult Julia Child, should be made with only the yolks. I like to use the whole egg (or a double yolker when I can get one) because I don’t like waste, I like a slightly lower-fat mayo, and I think the whites help make it fluffy.

It goes without saying, I hope, that any time you use an egg uncooked, you want it to be your freshest egg, and do wash it thoroughly before using. (I generally don’t when I’m cooking with our eggs, and no one’s died yet.)

Here’s how I make mayonnaise:

1 large egg in a wide, squat glass jar

Add:
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp. vinegar (something neutral like apple cider or white wine)
1 tsp. dry mustard or brown mustard
1 small pinch sugar
2 large pinches salt (but I really like salt)
a good sprinkle of ground pepper, white pepper if you don’t like the specks to show

Begin to blend with a hand mixing wand. As you blend, slowly add, bit by bit:

~1 cup neutral-flavoured oil (I use canola)

It will take about 5 minutes, but the mixture will begin to emulsify, and you’ll see it thicken. Keep going until you reach your desired consistency.

That’s it! Will keep, covered, in the fridge for about two weeks, and if your eggs are anything like mine, it will be a rich yellow colour.

Makes me wonder what the hell eggs Hellman’s is using…

12 thoughts on “What the point of having chickens if you don’t make mayo?!

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I’ll be passing that on to Susan who does all the cooking in our house lol.

    All mayo I have seen is white, I wonder why? :/ Do they use just the whites?

      • I don’t want to know how they do that then.. lol

        Oh – I had to know.. Just looked it up – it’s the speed it is beaten that makes it white!

      • “The egg yolk and oil form what we call an emulsion. This means little ‘bubbles’ or oil in thin membranes of eggyolk make a mixture of two substances that dont disolve. This makes light be diffused. Making something apear white.

        Foam does exactly the same. soap forms membranes with water, to trap in air in bubbles.”

      • I still say there ain’t no power in the ‘verse can turn my yolks white!

Leave a Reply

