A clockwork chicken. C minus 10.

A couple of days ago, I had all but given up on BroodyBuffy. There were six eggs in the wicker nest, because I had my mental blinkers on and thought “six chicks come from six eggs. Selah.” It never occurred to me that Buffy might need more eggs to go broody.

Then along comes one of my most excellent readers to tell me: more eggs = more broody. The heavens opened, the angels sang, and the doves were released. Eureka!!

Thanks to Aoxa’s excellent guidance, I am now allowing Buffy’s eggs to accumulate. She sat her six old eggs all day yesterday, from 7am to 5pm, and added a seventh. She re-entered the brooder about 9am this morning, and is now sitting eight. Will this be enough to throw the switch? Is eight, in fact, enough? (Okay, if you got that, you are old.)

After Buffy exits the brooder crate at dusk, I’m going to set up my new ceramic heat bulb in there (thanks, Pat!). When Buffy gets back in tomorrow morning, the brooder will be snug and cozy, and it just might sweeten the deal.

The next question: will nine days of “brooding” be long enough that she’ll accept the chicks on the 20th?

Fingers crossed, yo!

6 thoughts on “A clockwork chicken. C minus 10.

  1. If it is not enough, just try again a little later. My broody cochin wouldn’t take the chicks at 14 days, but did the week after ( I didn’t try inbetween), so even if the chicks are a bit older, she could still take them when they are a lot more work than day olds :P

    I have my fingers crossed! I really hope it helps. She should stop once she realizes that she can’t cover anymore. That’s what their instinct tells them. Some want more eggs, but the instinctual broodies (silkies, cochins, BO) will lay on as little as one. I really think she will be broody. It’s the perfect time of year, and she already sits way more than a non-broody chicken would (ie: Hermione).

    I am going to guess that within 5 days she will be full on broody for you. Let’s just hope that she will accept the chicks earlier than 21 days!

    Speaking of production reds.. My Penny laid the biggest egg I’ve ever seen in my life. It’s the size of a goose egg/emu egg. lol – I might hatch a couple of her chicks to see if I can get some production qualities out of her babies. How would I do that when her eggs are super jumbo? Chicks wouldn’t develop properly :P How is it that my smallest standard girl lays twice as big as her heavier sisters?

    Oh and how is Trixie’s eggs? Still super small?

    • To answer your question about Trixie, she is still shooting blanks. She hasn’t laid a proper egg in well over a month, and not even a fart egg in over a week. I don’t get it. Something is seriously wrong with her egg maker. But she TRIES. Every day. And no one makes more noise while “laying” than Trixie…

      • I have a Rhode Island Red that does that. She nests without laying. Never had a fart egg, but she spent months just going through the motions. I don’t think there is anything wrong with Trixie in terms of health.

        Is there any way what-so-ever that she is going through a molt? I have one that decided it was time to molt and she is closing in on a year old. Born last spring just like Trixie. I have others born the same time and they are not molting. Stress can set them into a molt.

      • There is nothing even remotely resembling a molt, but that’s a great guess. She laid yet another fart egg today. I have no idea what’s going on with her. She’s lucky she’s in a no-kill facility…

      • How weird is that.. The only other option is the stress from that attack. Not sure why it would affect her more than Buffy though…

        I have a barred rock that has not laid in a very long time, and she is not old, sick, or molting. I just have come to accept it. She is also in a no kill facility. My hens have homes for life. Especially Dixie (the one not laying).

      • Three fart eggs in three days! I don’t know whether that’s a good sign or a bad one!

Leave a Reply

