The size of it. The musical.

Some time ago, I mentioned that I wanted an antique, vintage egg scale. I was making do with an ugly, modern one, and haven’t been entirely sure it was weighing true. Could it really be that the vast majority of my eggs are “medium”, with only the occasional “large”?

I tried to test the scale, but didn’t have anything I could be sure weighed precisely two ounces. I even tried weighing my iPhone, knowing the precise weight would be in the specs, but it was way over 4 ounces, and, so, off the egg scale.

I received a much-belated Christmas gift last week, from The Man’s grandmother…a vintage egg scale. Huzzah!! I did a side-by-side test of the two scales and found a significant discrepancy in the results.

Here, for example, is a recent egg laid by Abby, one of our larger eggs, on the more modern scale:

It weighed Abby’s egg at just a shade over 2 ounces, making it “large”. I then weighed the same egg on the new, old scale:

See that? Just a hair under “extra large”. That’s a considerable difference.

So, which to trust? I won’t know for sure until I get my hands on one of those official weights pharmacists used to use, and it really has to be pretty close to 2 ounces. I’ll keep my eye out for one; in the meantime, I think I’ll trust the more generous one.

Wouldn’t you?

2 thoughts on “The size of it. The musical.

Leave a Reply

