There’s good news and there’s gross news.

But what of Buffy, you might well ask?

She’s still in the house, probably until early next week. She’s on oral antibiotics until Monday, too.

The good news: I was surprised and delighted the other day to lift up her cape and see…(get your mind out of the gutter):

New pins! The left side of her tail, where she had self-plucked herself bald, is growing new feathers. This is sooner than I had thought it would be, mostly because Haley’s butt is still bald after more than a month. But Buffy has had a very high protein diet, and that’s said to speed feather regrowth.

Now, do not read further if you are easily nauseated or grossed out. Gentle reader, avert thine eyes…

No? Okay. You have been warned.

The gross news: I had to wash Buffy’s cape this morning. HAD TO. I could take the Blu-Kote stains, but the poop stains were just not okay. This means she had to be naked for a bit, while it went through the wash.

WELL. She just went to town on the scab of her wound, picking at it. Peeling it off. And EATING it, Blu-Kote and all. I went to stop her, but then stopped myself.

It’s been a week and a half since she was attacked, and she has gone through a remarkable recovery. Maybe she knows best? Maybe the flesh could use a little debriding at this time? I let her have her way, and…DUDE. I can’t believe she ate the whole thing. I did try to keep her from eating it, but she scarfed it down faster than I could intervene. She was an ANIMAL.

And what was underneath the scab was…okay. I mean, it was raw flesh, and very tender looking, but it looked healthy, not infected or tortured.

After consulting with The Oracle of Agway, I spritzed the new, raw surface of the wound with Vetricin, waited for it to dry, then applied a coat of Vaseline Petroleum Jelly to keep the exposed flesh from drying out and contracting, in so doing. Then I redressed her in her (clean) cape.

Poor Buffy, she’s had a hard day. Here’s how her wound looks now:

If it looks as though the wound is worse now, it’s only because I have trimmed away most of the feathers that were covering it. It’s actually a tremendous improvement.

And so, I spent the better part of an hour this morning taking in the concentrated smells of chicken feces, antibiotics, mealworms, and raw flesh. Buffy feels much better. I, on the other hand, may never eat again.

4 thoughts on “There’s good news and there’s gross news.

    • Oh, thank dog, NO. Just the one the day after the attack. She has been squatting for me the last few days though, so she might be gearing up for action again. She does LOVE to sit on that one egg, though. It gives her purpose and keeps her calm.

    • I know, it’s a little crazy, right? I think you have to decide what kind of a chicken owner you are at some point, and we decided that, yes, ours are livestock, but they’re more than that, too. Had euthanising her been the humane thing to do when it happened, I’d have done it, but it was clear from the beginning she was going to recover, and I didn’t want to muck it up! Stay tuned for more drama in tomorrow’s post…

Leave a Reply

