With apologies to Gertrude Stein. Orpington edition.

The other day, I showed you eggs from my two Production Red girls, side by side, to illustrate how simple it is for me to tell which hen laid which egg. Especially within breed, however, side-by-side comparison can be critical.

My two early birds this morning were my two Buff Orpingtons, so I thought I’d show you how their eggs compare, and how easy it is to tell them apart…when they’re side by side (or, for my British friends, “side by each”, a delicious variation, which I try to use whenever it won’t be completely obnoxious to do so).

I found Buffy’s egg (while she was still on it, of course; this is Buffy we’re talking about), and noticed it was not only warm, but also a bit damp. She had just laid it. I couldn’t just take it away from her; this wasn’t Haley or Hermione, this was Buffy. Buffy has a momma’s heart, and loves to sit on her eggs. For hours. I couldn’t bear to take it away from her just yet, so I left it right in front of her in The Hideaway, and she tucked it under her lovingly with her bill. Adorable.

When I went back for the egg an hour later, Trixie had laid in The Baby Box. Und so…I give you, gentle reader, with apologies to Gertrude Stein…Orpington edition.

You can see why they need to be next to each other to make the call. Buffy’s egg, at left, is shorter, wider and slightly darker than Trixie’s egg, at right. This has always been the case.

So, stay tuned for two more editions of With Apologies to Gertrude Stein. The Plymouth Barred Rock edition might have to wait, though, until Abby decides to lay again…

3 thoughts on “With apologies to Gertrude Stein. Orpington edition.

  1. I was curious, do you have roosters? My friend who has had chickens for years advised me to not get roosters. She said the personality of her chickens changed when the big bad rooster came on the scene. She also said she couldn’t stand the dramatic mating scene. I’ve always loved hearing the rooster crow….not sure what to do. Any ideas?

    • We got one by accident among our twelve sexed pullet chicks, which is about par for the course. We have a rooster-averse neighbour, so he was rehomed, and then he was killed by a fox defending his ladies. So…no rooster at the moment. Except for me, of course. I’m sure it would change the dynamic of the flock. I, personally, am too much of a baby to eat chicken zygote. Can’t do it. And I have no desire to hatch, either, so, it looks like we’re staying roosterless.

  2. Trixie’s egg looks EXACTLY like my Buff Orpington girl, Olive. Same white spottiness too :) Very easy to tell apart from the others. Plus she can only fit in my plus-szied nesting boxes. I have never seen any chicken that big..

    In the spring/summer/fall are your BO’s good layers? Olive has been off an on. She just started before Christmas, and hasn’t laid very often. When she does, it’s usually always later in the day. I need to get some more production girls. Best layer I have, and the friendliest personality!

Leave a Reply

