Et tu, Trixie?!

Another one bites the dust.

Which is not to say that we’ve lost a hen; nothing so dramatic as that. It’s just that Trixie hasn’t laid an egg in over a week, joining her non-laying sisters Tallulah and, of course, Hermione.

The difference is that Trixie is trying. She goes to The Annex, faithfully every day. She sits and sits and sits. Then she comes away, brokenhearted, having left the nest empty. Unlike the other two, she has the good grace to at least appear upset about her non-production.

This means that my maximum possible eggs/day is now down to seven, and I’m generally getting 5 or 6. It’s not so bad, but I also notice the eggs seem smaller then they were in the fall. Perhaps I’m just getting greedy.

I do have hope, though. Yesterday, I began to notice Hermione off on her own, near the coop, on a couple of occasions. Also, There was an ungodly racket in the barn which turned out to be Tallulah screaming in The Baby Box, vacant all these weeks. And Hermione is actually squatting for me for the first time in over a month.

I don’t want to jinx it, but…maybe the longer days are starting to kick in…?

3 thoughts on “Et tu, Trixie?!

  1. My production red, Penny is going through a really bad molt. She stopped for two weeks and started squatting again four days ago! I got an egg Friday, Saturday and now she is in the nesting box preparing for the next one. All while in a really horrible molt!

    She did not squat for me during the two weeks, so now that Hermione is squatting again, I say there will be eggs any day! If you can find them that is ;)

    • Aye, there’s the rub! I see her wandering around by herself, and I just KNOW she’s looking for a new, creative place to lay her eggs. She always has the darkest eggs, and it’s been at least a month since she’s laid, so the first few should be gorgeous, and I don’t want to miss them. I think Penny needs to have a little talk to Hermione about her work ethic…

Leave a Reply

